How keeping secrets can kill a relationship

Many people believe that they keep secrets from their partner because they think telling the truth will make things worse. Or they believe that their significant other simply cannot handle the truth and will end the relationship.  Here i will give you 4 reasons why it’s a good idea not to keep secrets;

1) You will feel better about yourself. Honesty is always the best policy and most of us have a moral code which tells us that keeping secrets is akin to lying. However for the majority of us, being dishonest is only acceptable when we are desperate.

2) Secrets can lead to depression. A study recently showed that young people aged 14-19 who kept private secrets had higher levels of rule-breaking behaviors and reported lower moods with more complaints of headaches. The study also found that secrecy was correlated with feelings of loneliness.

3) Secrets lead to lies. A big secret can easily turn into a web of lies. After all, it’s not easy to keep something important from the people you care about without telling a few little white lies to cover your tail along the way. Without getting into all the reasons that lying is something you just shouldn’t do, suffice it to say that honesty really is the best policy.

4) Your partner is more understanding than you might think. If someone has proved themselves to be worthy of your trust, then that person is worth confiding in. You might be surprised at what a relief it is to open up about the things you’ve been keeping to yourself.

-Boyfriend

7 thoughts on “How keeping secrets can kill a relationship

  1. Yes, lying, even by omission is tough. And it leads to more lies, I have seen it with patients, but also when I did not tell my mother about the breakup of my marriage till 2 years after my divorce. I did it in request of my now ex-husband. It was wrong, and hard. I would never lie to someone close to me again.

    But sometimes, it is more complicated, if you have a partner who cannot take complete openness and honesty. Sometimes you keep a secret to protect her. I used to keep my depression a secret to protect my family. Again, it was hard.
    I am glad to be with a man who can take me, with my idiosyncrasies, and the naked truth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

